09
Apr
12

Will, 1855 SEP 24

Last Will and Testament, Lewis Grant, 24 September 1855


SURROGATE COURT }
UNITED COUNTIES OF LEEDS AND GREN- } BY George Malloch Esquire, Judge of said Court.
VILLE } TO Lewis Grant of the Township of South
Gower in the United Counties of Leeds and Grenville, yeoman
and Daniel Grant of the Township of Edwardsburgh in the said
United Counties, Miller,

Whereas, Lewis Grant late of
the Township of Edwardsburgh aforesaid
in the said United Counties Esquire deceased, lately died, but before his
decease, duly made and published his last WILL and TESTAMENT in writing, bearing
date the twenty first day of April in the year of our Lord One
Thousand Eight Hundred and Fifty three and thereby appointed the said
Lewis Grant and Daniel Grant
Executors of his said WILL and TESTAMENT, proof of the due Execution of the said
WILL having be made in common form, and the Oath of Executor having been adminis-
tered to the said Lewis Grant and Daniel Grant,
THIS PROBATE is granted to them with a copy of the said Will annexed.
IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have caused the seal of said Court to be hereunto
affixed at the Town of Brockville, in the said United Counties, this twenty fourth
day of September in the year of our Lord One Thousand Eight Hundred and
Fifty-Five

James [???] } W Malloch
Reg [???] } Judge County Court

[Page break]

This is the last will and testament of me Lewis
Grant of the Township of Edwardsburgh Esquire
I give and bequeth to my son Lewis Grant eighty-four
pounds currency -- I give and bequeth to my son
Daniel Grant his heirs and assigns my Farm in the
Township of Edwardsburgh Upper Canada, being part
of lots number seven and eight in the ninth concession
of the said Township with my Mills and other buildings
thereon erected, on condition of his paying to his sister
Nancy Fifty pounds curr/y in two years after my
death in stock or grain; and paying his Mother an
annuity of Thirty pounds curr/y per year on the first
day of January of each and every year during her
life my widow to keep the Mills and farm in
security for the due payment of her annuity ---
I give and bequeth to my son Alexander Grant
Twenty four pounds curr/y --- I give and bequeth
to my daughter Nancy Fifty pounds curr/y to be paid
by my son Daniel Grant in stock or grain in two
years after my death ---
I give and bequeth to my daughter Polly Thirteen
pounds curr/y ---
I give and bequeth to my daughter Rachel Sixty
one pounds curr/y ---
My household furniture I give and bequeth to
my dear wife Anna Grant as also an annuity
of fifty pounds curr/y to be paid to her by my son
Daniel Grant on the first day of January of each
and every year during her life and my widow to keep
my Farm and Mills in security for the regular pay=
=ment of her annuity --- The remainder of my pro=
=perty, I give and bequeth to my sons Lewis, Daniel,
Alexander and Allan to be equally divided between
them or the survivors of them, and I hereby appoint
my Sons Lewis Grant and Daniel Grant executors

[Page break]

of this my last will and testament, and I
hereby empower and direct my said executors to sell
or dispose of any landed property that I have at the
time of my death and [to?] divided the price amonge
my children agreeable to this my last will and to
give deeds for the Farms I have sold when fully paid
for ---
And finally I hereby revoke and make void all other
wills and testaments by me made at any time heretofore --
Witness my hand and seal at Edwardsburgh this Twenty
first of April in the year one thousand eight hundred
and Fifty three signed } Lewis Grant (LG)
Signed Sealed and declared by }
the said testator Lewis Grant as }
his last Will and testament in }
our presence and in his presence }
and presence of each other who at his }
request have signed our names as }
witnesses -- The [???] year in the thirty }
first line first page interlined }
Signed } Benjamin McFadden
Signed } William H Bush
Signed } Laura Almira Pratt

I certify that a Memorial of the within Will was registered
in the Registry Office for the County of Grenville at four of the
clock in the afternoon of the twentieth day of June in the year
of our Lord one thousand eight hundred and fifty five in
[Liber?] B for the Township of Edwardsburgh, Memorial at 99
pages 80 & 81 Signed } S. S. Warner Deputy Register
County of Grenville

0 Responses to “Will, 1855 SEP 24”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

