08
Apr
12

Letter, 1791 Aug 31

Letter from William Grant to his son, Lewis Grant, 31 August 1791
Transcription by G.B.Grant, November 1938
Revised by Hugh Campbell, 31 May 2003

Carron 31st August 1791
Dear Lewis
Sunday afternoon I seed a letter that General
James Grant
had from Col. Simcoe, Governor of Upper Canada
and think the subjoined copy may be nearly word for word it is
a hard hand to read and I had the Governor of Upper Canadas letter but a
short time and you may rest assured that I was a little flattered with
joye. I am sure it is a very favorable opportunity for you and
think the Governors letter is as strong as one could wish. The two
gentlemen that applied for you General Grant & Elchies understood
well that it would not answer at all to have asked a salary for
you at first that is forcomone[??] left to the Governor & often the
minister interferes with the Governor in some points but
the Governor has many things in his power & Salary will come
next. You may see by the copy subjoined that your two
friends has a high opinion of you and I am positive
that the Governor may find you of use to him as you have a
mind that wishes to please with attention & sobriety Equity [??]
to struggle through life. I am afraid your stay cannot
be long at Aberdeen to study. You must apply the closser while
you stay & you must learn as you go allong. London and every
where else is alike. A Governor has places in his gift that will
suite every capacity—. In surveying owing to woods you are
obliged to understand the compass and theodolite and it is hard for any
to pass through the woods without some knowledge of both
until they learn from the Indians. The country is cold in the winter and
hote in the summer. I shall pay every attention that is in
my power to your shirts and other cloths I supose that you
have taken a suit of cloaths of the best enquire the price of
stockings and of every other thing that you think you want and
inform me by first post. If I thought that I was able to
pay all with ready cash it might be cheaper to buy
in Aberdeen than at Elgin and Forres but as I am affraid that
cash may come short it may be easier to get credit at these
places than at Aberdeen. Let me know the number of shirts
&c that you carryed with you And likewise acquaint me
when a ship is to sail from Aberdeen to London or if there is
any ship going soon from Aberdeen to New York, Halifax
or any other part of North America. To learn open that b[??]
[???]ing I Card It is [???]
[Page break]

you ought to have wrote to me to let me know
your address.
I had a letter from Lachlan date 12th of June
he was then well and it was thought the
ship was to sail from Jamica for London
about the middle of July. He is growling
& saying that he is hard wroght but he
forbids me to acquaint his mother of
his complaints or any other person.
I am somewhat of opinion that no[??] ship
can get up the river Sant Larance in the fall
but ships can go to New York and then over land
to Cannada. Should this be the road you just
pass by your Uncle James & you can see him.
Write me if your old Master is at Aberdeen if not
it is my opinion that you ought to go to London
by the first oppertunity in order to do what
you can there. I have not as yet got any knowledge
of the Governors movements but he must be
agreeable to orders. I came to Forres last
night to acquaint your mother and to consult with
her as to necessarys & I return to Carron this day loss no time
in writing me there is many posts that will suit you
in the power of a Govr & in a new Government he can appoint whom he
pleases — when once kin. I [am??] Wm. Grant

[Page break]

Extract o Col. Simcoe letter addressed by him to General James Grant
of Belindallach & dated at London Portland place 10th August 1791
Dear Sir
This is first day in which my appointment to the
Government of Upper Canada has been absolutely determined of
course while I had a doubt upon the point whether I should accept
of it; It would have been highly improper in me to have
answered your very friendly letter but the point on which I
demanded having been acceded. I lose not a moment in saying
how happy I shall be whenever it shall be in my power to obey
your commands & to show the very unfeigned respect I shall
evere bear towards you. Do not conceive that there is
any salary allowed to the post that your friend recommends
the young man to obtain but that the profites arise from
[???] I have therefore only to assure you that I will
patronage him to the outmost of my power & that I do not
doubt but if he possesses the good qualities which are attributed
to him it will come as much my duty as it certainly will be my
intention to give my best assistance.
With outmost respect
Signed this— JG Simcoe

Let now by first post the price of silk stockings and every
other stocking fine and C
Wm. Grant

0 Responses to “Letter, 1791 Aug 31”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

